Home     Contact Us         Log in
Apr 24
Wednesday
Dharma Teachings, Shambhala News Service
Sakyong Address Live Online This Friday

ChicagoImagining Peace; Enlightened Society Gatherings April 26-28
Chicago Shambhala Center and Shambhala Online present

Live from Chicago, Illinois, USA
Creating Enlightened Society:
A Keynote Address by Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche
Friday April 26, 2013, 7:30 pm Central

(9:30 pm Atlantic, 8:30 pm Eastern, 6:30 pm Mountain, 5:30 pm Pacific)
Rockefeller Chapel, University of Chicago
with opening music by Fulcrum Point

$15 per person to attend via Shambhala Online.
A recording will also be available on April 27. Click here to register.

Can we envision a peaceful society?
Chicago’s Imagining Peace Conference features teachings and workshops that explore living meaningfully in an increasingly hectic and interconnected world. The conference opens with a keynote talk from the Sakyong, called Creating Enlightened Society.

The Sakyong will guide an inspiring contemplation on how we apply the teachings of Shambhala, which emphasize confidence in our inherent goodness, to address the challenging questions about the future of our society and to reflect on how we may achieve a peaceful society. Speaking from a point of view that is informed by Buddhism but is fundamentally non-sectarian, Sakyong Mipham will offer wisdom from the Shambhala teachings on mind and society.

This talk is open to the public — feel free to invite your friends!

The program underscores the context of the Sakyong’s new book, The Shambhala Principle: Discovering Humanity’s Hidden Treasure, which invites us to reflect on our basic goodness, and the inherent goodness of all society, and to go forward as courageous and compassionate warriors intent on creating an enlightened world.

Fulcrum Point New Music Project, Chicago’s leader of diverse new music, will open the program with classical music ranging from Bach to contemporary that highlights the sensibilities of dignity, contemplation, and ceremonial nobility.

Join us, virtually, for what Acharya Adam Lobel describes as “a milestone in the history of our lineage. We will be taking a major step in the process of creating enlightened society by directly engaging a challenging and pressing societal issue — youth violence. For anyone curious about the meeting place of our profound practice lineage and social transformation, this event is not to be missed.”

Post Tags: ,

Sorry, comments for this entry are closed at this time.



Website Development by Blue Mandala using Wordpress MU.
All content and source Copyright © 1994-2020. Shambhala International (Vajradhatu), Shambhala, Shambhala Meditation Center, Shambhala Training, Shambhala Center and Way of Shambhala are registered service marks of Shambhala USA
Privacy Policy

Facebook

Get the Facebook Likebox Slider Pro for WordPress
Translate »