Home     Contact Us         Log in
Jun 08
Monday
Community Articles
A Space for Sharing Collective Grief during the Racism Pandemic

An announcement of an online program with Acharyas Charlene Leung, Holly Gayley, Gaylon Ferguson & Emily Bower

The atrocity of centuries old social injustice, uncovered by the pandemic, comes to a head with the recent killing of George Floyd. Change is everywhere. What we each experience differs, based largely on our personal and social location in society. We are being called to look deeply into our interconnection. Opening to whatever we are feeling, we can experience our inherent tenderness, the gateway to vast possibility and lasting action.

Tuesday, June 9th, we come together in collective grief around systemic racism and police brutality.

Everyone is invited to join in an 80-minute session of practice, honoring our feelings, and speaking from the heart in small groups. We will begin with opening remarks and a guided practice, led by Acharyas Charlene Leung & Holly Gayley. After that, we will break into caucuses for BIPOC-identified (Black, Indigenous, People of Color) and white-identified people to share and speak from the heart in small breakout groups. We will end by coming back together as a whole to do practice and dedicate the merit. If you are not familiar with the process of caucusing, you can read more about it in two excellent articles by Kelsey Blackwell and Alex Vlasic on The Arrow Journal.

The gathering is scheduled for Tuesday, June 9, the day of George Floyd’s funeral, at 5pm Pacific, 6pm Mountain, 7pm Central, 8pm Easter, and 9pm Atlantic. 

The Zoom link will be sent on Tuesday to those who register.

Register Here

Post Tags: , , , , ,

Sorry, comments for this entry are closed at this time.



Website Development by Blue Mandala using Wordpress MU.
All content and source Copyright © 1994-2020. Shambhala International (Vajradhatu), Shambhala, Shambhala Meditation Center, Shambhala Training, Shambhala Center and Way of Shambhala are registered service marks of Shambhala USA
Privacy Policy

Facebook

Get the Facebook Likebox Slider Pro for WordPress
Translate »